Delhi Declaration, 2nd RE-Invest and IORA

21 countries in the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) adopted the Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy in the Indian Ocean Region.


What is Delhi Declaration? The Delhi declaration was the outcome of the 2nd IORA Renewable Energy Ministerial Meeting held in India.

The Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy in the Indian Ocean Region calls for collaboration among IORA member states in meeting the growing demand for renewable energy in the Indian Ocean littorals, development of a common renewable energy agenda for the Indian Ocean region and promote regional capacity building.

The declaration also calls for promotion of technology development and transfer, strengthening of public private partnerships in renewable energy and collaboration among IORA member states and the member nations of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).

IORA member countries also resolved to collaborate with the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA).

As per the declaration, IORA member nations will collaborate with the ISA member nations to exchange knowledge and share views and potential interests in the renewable energy sector.

Also, IORA member nations and IRENA will undertake the expansion of the Global Renewable Energy Atlas, the world’s largest-ever joint renewable resource data project, coordinated by IRENA.


2nd RE-Invest

The RE-Invest series of Investors’ Meet & Expo hosted by the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Government of India, showcases India’s renewable energy potential and the Government’s efforts to scale up capacity to meet the national energy requirement in a socially, economically and ecologically sustainable manner. 

The 2nd Global RE-Invest India-ISA Partnership Renewable Energy Investors Meet & Expo was held from 3-5 October, 2018 at the  India Expo Mart, Greater Noida.

This edition also hosted the First Assembly of International Solar Alliance (ISA) and the 2nd Meeting of Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Renewable Energy Ministers.


IORA (Indian Ocean Rim Association) formerly known as the Indian Ocean Rim Initiative and Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation (IOR-ARC), is an international organisation consisting of coastal states bordering the Indian Ocean.

IORA is based on the principles of Open Regionalism for strengthening Economic Cooperation particularly on Trade Facilitation and Investment, Promotion as well as Social Development of the region. The Coordinating Secretariat of IORA is located at Ebene, Mauritius.


Members nations of IORA:

India, Australia, Iran IR, Indonesia Thailand, Malaysia, South Africa, Mozambique, Kenya, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Bangladesh, Singapore, Mauritius, Madagascar, UAE, Yemen, Seychelles, Somalia, Comoros and Oman are members of IORA.


Prepared By: Eswar Sai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *