PM Modi awarded with Seoul Peace Prize 2018

PM Modi awarded with Seoul Peace Prize 2018


What is the news?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been conferred with the prestigious Seoul Peace Prize 2018 in recognition of his contribution to the growth of Indian economy and global economies.

The 12-member selection committee chose Modi from over 100 nominees, and found him to be the “perfect candidate”.


The committee has lauded PM Modi and credited

  • Modi for his “modinomics” which the award committee said “reduced social and economic disparity between the rich and poor of the country.”
  • PM Modi’s initiatives to make the government cleaner through anti-corruption measures and demonetisation.
  • Modi’s “dedication” to improving human development and economic growth in India and to “furthering the development of democracy through anti-corruption and social integration efforts”.
  • PM Modi for his contribution towards regional and global peace through a proactive policy with countries around the world under the ‘Modi doctrine’ and the act east policy.

He will be presented the 2018 Seoul Peace Prize at a mutually convenient time with the Seoul Peace Prize Foundation.

PM Modi expressed his gratitude for the prestigious honour and he also expressed hope for India’s deepening partnership with the Republic of Korea.


What is the Seoul Peace Prize?

  • The Seoul Peace Prizewas established in 1990 as a biennial recognition with monetary award.
  • It was established to commemorate the success of the 24th Summer Olympics Gamesheld in Seoul, an event in which 160 nations from across the world took part, creating harmony and friendship.
  • The Seoul Peace Prize was established to reflect the wishes of the Korean people and to crystallize their desire for everlasting peace on earth.
  • The nominating group consists of 300 Korean nationals, and 800 internationals.
  • The awardee receives a diploma, a plaque and honorarium of US$200,000.

PM Modi is the 14th recipient of the award and the past laureates included former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and renowned international relief organizations like Doctors Without Borders and Oxfam.

Past Seoul Peace Prize recipients have gone on to be nominated and awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, which includes Medecins Sand Frontieres (1996 Seoul Peace Prize, 1999 Nobel Peace Prize) and Bangladeshi Dr. Muhammad Yunus (2006 Seoul Peace Prize, 2006 Nobel Peace Prize), the founder of Grameen Bank.


Prepared By: Sai Eswar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *