Sevottam Model

Sevottam Model

Sevottam Model  is combination of SEWA + UTTAM, means, uttam sewa i.e. excellence in services. It helps Government Departments towards assessing and improving the quality of service delivery to citizens.

It has basically three modules –

  1. Citizen Charter,
  2. Public Grievance Redress Mechanism and
  3. Service Delivery Capability.


Seven Steps in Sevottam Model

The model prescribes seven steps:

  1. Define services and identify clients.
  2. Set standards and norms for each service.
  3. Develop capability to meet the set standards.
  4. Perform to achieve the standards.
  5. Monitor performance against the set standards.
  6. Evaluate impact through an independent mechanism.
  7. Continuous improvement based on monitoring and evaluation.


Seven Quality Management Principles of Sevottam Model

The seven principles are

  • Customer focus
  • Leadership
  • Engagement of people
  • Process approach
  • Improvement
  • Evidence-based decision making
  • Relationship management

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *