Six plus Two Group

“6+2” group ( Six plus Two Group )

✔️The group includes six neighboring countries of Afghanistan namely China, Iran, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

✔️ “6+2” group ( Six plus Two Group) also known as “6+2+1” group ( Six plus Two plus one Group)

✔️ The ‘2’ indicates the two global players – the U.S. and Russia, and ‘1’, Afghanistan itself.

✔️ The objective of the Group was to find a solution to the Afghan problem, to assist in the establishment of a broadly representative and multi-ethnic Afghan government.

✔️ The coalition worked to find a peaceful solution that would have included the participation of the Afghan Northern Alliance. Later it explored the issue of a post- Taliban government for Afghanistan.

✔️ India is not a part of the group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *